Assorted musings and rants as I search for balance, peace, understanding and happiness.
Thursday, May 15, 2008
The Final Stretch
He's so clueless. He has no idea of all the things I want for him. He has no idea of all the joy he's brought me. He has no idea of the satisfaction and pride I feel. He's so many things. A loving son and grandson, a good-natured brother, a good friend, an excellent student, a proud athlete, a determined person, a bit head-strong, a take charge kinda guy, not much time for foolishness unless of course it's time to fool around, good with little kids, a joker, a good listener, willing to try new things and comforted by tradition.
I have been doing a lot of reminiscing and I want so many good things for him. I simply pray that he will always be safe and happy. Good luck son on all your future endeavors.
Tuesday, May 13, 2008
The Best Laid plans...
Anyway, today he had a 7:30 meeting and after was going to have time to stop at home to have lunch. Save a few bucks eating leftovers in the comfort of home before heading to the office. And before he actually even went to the office he's stopping by the high school to get the graduation ticket for his mom so she can see 18 get his diploma. Perfect. Life is good.
Our microwave is temperamental shall we say. The screen isn't visible right now. It works. You just have to remember what was where on the screen and hope you are pushing the right thing. So, hubby serves himself a plate of leftover fried rice and hits what he thinks is 2 1/2 minutes (who really knows), goes to the bathroom and the doorbell rings. It's the mailman, he has a certified letter for him to sign for. He does and gets the mail and put it all on the entry table and goes to get his food out. The plate got SO hot he burned his hand because obviously he grabbed it with his bare hand. In an attempt to not drop the whole plate on the stove top he did a juggle thing with both hands and the plate burning more than one finger as he got the plate to the counter. No spillage. Good. The cleaning lady came yesterday and people are coming over tonight. He quickly seeks relief and sticks his hands under some cold running water. OK. Good . Now he gets a glass out to serve himself some water. Opens the fridge and grabs the water pitcher not really looking carefully and as he pulls the pitcher out crash goes the glass bottle of lemon juice all over the kitchen floor. GREAT! There's a dirty towel on the floor from 18s workout yesterday. He grabs that and starts soaking up lemon juice and sweeps up glass and soaks up lemon juice and wets some paper towels and goes over part of the floor that was sticky. Dumps the towel in the washing machine. Fine. Done. So, it smells lemony fresh. Gets his glass of water and plate of food to scarf down lunch at this point because now he's in a hurry AND now his rice is COLD! He ate it cold not wanting to go another round with the microwave.
He called to tell me the story on his way to the office and I was laughing so hard I was in tears. Did I mention I have people coming over and now I gotta hurry home and vacuum up the tiny pieces of glass and mop the kitchen floor. I hope it's not overly lemony smelling. Gimme patience.
ADDED LATER....I just called hubby to ask what the Certified Letter was. He doesn't know. He left it with the rest of the mail and didn't open it! LOL!
Monday, May 12, 2008
Mother's Day
I was recently asked by a friend who's father recently passed, How long does it take to get over it? I told him, I'll let you know as soon as I do. He just looked at me in quiet silence. Then asked, You mean I'm always going to hurt like this? No, I reassured him. It won't always hurt. There will be days it hurts to the point of crying and days that a memory is a comforting warm blanket that helps you through something. But you never forget. They never go away. At least that's how it is for me.
This mother's day, I got my cards, spent time with the extended family, went to my nephews' piano recital (it was lovely!), BBQd at SILs, called other moms and wished them a happy day. It was all perfectly nice. But in the back of my head, nagging at me all day, occasionally causing a lump in my throat was that I couldn't give my mom a hug, that she never met my kids, she would love sitting and telling them all the stupid things my brother and I did as kids and that she did too. Hell, it's making me cry as I type this.
Friday, May 09, 2008
My sweet boys!
We talked about school stuff but not the grades, the people and the dramas that are in every high school - the stuff soap operas are made. Some of the other things we talked about:
sports (duh), their friends, upcoming summer dreams, college wishes, wouldn't it be great if..., remember when..., comparing my high school days to theirs, weekend plans.
It was great, we didn't watch TV, we didn't do any chores. We just sat, the 3 of us and talked and talked and talked. Really nice. They have no idea how much it meant to me even though I told them.
Thursday, May 08, 2008
Athletic Banquet
We reconnected with a bunch of parents we hadn't seen in a while. That was nice. I knew boys on many different teams and it was nice to see them all getting their awards. 18 received the Senior Award in Track and Field. We were very surprised. In fact I missed the picture and quite frankly wasn't listening to what they were saying. Why, you ask, did I miss such a special moment? Well, because I was busy at the other end of the stage getting a picture of 15 who received his Letterman's jacket for Track and Field. On the way home we asked him what the coach said as the introduction to the award. He said he didn't hear it because he was looking over the table for his District patch when another coach punched him in the shoulder and said Dude, listen! Pay Attention! and he turned and listened just in time to hear his name. He was very surprised. We all laughed.
His best friend since 1st grade also received a Senior Award for his sport, Hockey. It was great to take a picture of the 2 of them with their awards. I have pictures of those two boys doing assorted things going back to 1st grade, it's great that they are still such good friends. I hope they can keep in touch through college.
Like I said, 15 got his jacket and his oldest friend (brother of 18s friend) also received his jacket (also for hockey). We are GREAT friends with the parents and I was so happy that all 4 of them received awards last night. It was great! I am so happy for all of them.
I took tons of pictures. The lighting in the place is a horrible yellow but oh well. Neither of my sons gave me a hard time about the pictures. They actually called me over to take pictures of different groups and with different friends. I think they appreciate it more, now that they see all the 'old' pictures in the scrapbooks I am making. I think they are enjoying the memories. I certainly am enjoying the ride.
Wednesday, May 07, 2008
Sprain or Fracture - your guess
After a few hours they told him they don't think it's fractured. They think it's just a severe sprain. It's not his ankle, the swelling (yes, it's been swollen a month) is on the top towards the outside of the right foot. Anyway, they say it MAY be a minor stress fracture or a severe sprain. HULLO!!! Isn't that what we (my insurance) are paying you for? to tell us what's wrong? for what might be wrong he could have stayed home and polled that family and friends. They gave him a prescription for pain meds which he's not going to take, crutches which he used to walk outside of the clinic because he felt weird walking with them in his hands in front of their faces, and told him he should stay off of it and follow up with an Orthopedic. Gee Thanks! WhatEVER!
Tuesday, May 06, 2008
Seeing RED!
Since I am cooking more and more veggies now, I gave my lazy susan a spin to look for something new to put on them and make them un-boring. When it stopped the Red Pepper Flakes were staring at me. Hmmm... I tossed in a few dashes and YUM! The jar I had was probably as old as Methuselah, so I bought a fresh jar and have been using it on all my veggies now making new combos every day. Basil and Red Pepper Flakes. Fresh Cilantro and Red Pepper Flakes. Fresh curly parsley and Red Pepper Flakes. A squeeze of lemon and Red Pepper Flakes. You get the idea. Last night I made grilled chicken breasts with garlic, scallions, chunked eggplant, lemon juice and you guessed it Red Pepper Flakes. DELISH! Baby, Where ya been all my life?!
Monday, May 05, 2008
Track Meet Stuff
* 3 of out boys got medalled in their events. We came in 15th out of over 65 schools. We had no injuries.
* A new state record was set in pole vaulting at 17'6". It was really cool to watch the entire stadium watching this boy, oohhhing and ahhhing and cheering him on. They stopped all the other events so that everyone could watch him.
* One of our coaches drank the other coach's contacts and chaos ensued. C1 didn't bring a case and so he left his contacts in a glass with saline solution. C2 half asleep in the morning grabbed said cup put water in it, drank his meds and left the glass on the counter empty! He left for the park with a group of students who had to register earlier. C1, who is basically blind without his contact, couldn't find the glass, the phone calls started to find his Dr., get the prescription faxed, go buy glasses, get kids to where they needed to be, get C2 to buy his glass. Good thing that a bunch of us parents went and there were extra cars and drivers.
* At dinner I almost yelled out to one of the kids "Let me eat your cherry!" but I caught myself at Let me and rephrased to "Are you going to eat the cherry on your sundae? No? May I have it please?" Whew! It was really close.
* I got the mother of all sinus headaches while I was there and went to get Sudafed. Did you know that now that particular decongestant is regulated and they were just shy of asking me for a blood sample to buy it. Apparently, it's used to make some street drug. Who knew!? not me!
All in all it was a good weekend. We all had fun and came home tired and happy.
Friday, May 02, 2008
I'm leaving
So we are taking off today to Winter Park, Florida for the State Track Meet. The actual events are tomorrow and we will be back on Sunday. It starts early on Saturday and end really late thus the extra days. I think it will be a nice quick getaway amidst all the end of year chaos that's going on. We are all excited!
Thursday, May 01, 2008
Expired
So, last night at Coffee night the barista was going to toss a bunch of their sandwiches and salads because they expired. The date stamped on them was 4/30. I understand that they can't sell it anymore because if something were to happen to someone they'd be out of business. He offered them to us. We all took one for lunch the next day. My nose will know when I open it today if it has expired or not. Meanwhile I am looking forward to my chicken tarragon sandwich later. YUM!
Wednesday, April 30, 2008
White space
This week last night was the empty night which I spent cutting up graduation pictures to hand out at the family brunch I am having. Designing and printing the invitations and addressing the graduation announcements. I also reviewed some college forms for my son for the housing and class selection that need to be mailed out and made hotel reservations for our trip up in August AND for Family Weekend in October because some of the hotels were already sold out!
I bagged some of the boys old clothes to give to SIL when I see her on Mother's Day for her boys and cleared out my emails that I hadn't read in a few days.
But in the nest 3 weeks we have: State Track Meet (of course in another city, thereby requiring travel), awards dinner, prom, graduation mass, graduation & grad lunch, family brunch, Mother's Day, MILs birthday, plus all the regular every day life stuff! Tonight it's coffee night. I can't wait to see my girlfriends, they always help recharge me.
Monday, April 28, 2008
Time out!
So, at noon I had plans to learn how to make Natilla and then just hang out at home all by myself. I was going to putz around on the computer and print some picture to do some light scrapbooking, cook and freeze some meals, and watch old movies that I had recorded on the big screen TV! Ah, the best laid plans....
Natilla class went great. YUMMY! and then I went home and 18 was sprawled on the sofa half asleep with the draft on. Are you going to stay home, I asked him (to rearrange my plans)? No, I 'm just watching the draft. Well, no biggie, I had other things to do. I went to the kitchen and took out all the meats that I wanted to thaw so I could cook later. I putzed around on the computer and sent some pictures to print online because I didn't have enough ink for the printer, so there goes the light scrapbooking. No problem. I cleaned out my wallet and wrote a note to the cleaning lady for Monday about some things I wanted her to focus on since I am having people over after graduation in a few weeks. I called my SIL and we chatted a while, it was her bday. I took a shower. It's now 5:30. 18 is asleep on the sofa. I start to change the channel. He wakes up: NO! I'm watching the draft.
Me: No, you are sleeping with the draft on. Why don't you watch it in bed?
18: Because then I will fall asleep for sure. -Apparently he was asleep for maybe on the sofa.
Me: Well, I have a movie I'd like to watch, can you please watch it in the room because I want to cook while I watch it.
18: Why can't I watch TV in MY OWN HOUSE IN PEACE?! - apparently he paid the mortgage off while I was cleaning out my wallet. He's grumpy, hasn't slept. I take a deep breath
ME: Well, you had said you were going to a friends and I made plans. I already switched them around and you have had this TV for over 2 hours. Now, I think it's my turn. There are 3 other TVs in the house. You can watch on one of those.
18: harrumphs and drags his body off the sofa and goes to his room.
I begin to cook and watch Masterpiece Theater's Emma. In mid saute, 18 stomps out of the house stating he's going to Friend's house. I let it roll off and continue cooking. I made Italian meatballs and froze enough for 1 dinners, I made steak burritos, set one aside for dinner, set 3 aside for 18 for dinner and froze the rest (8), I made Sloppy Joe mixture for lunch for Sunday all while watching Emma then Miss. Austin Regrets and then the 2nd part of Sense and Sensibility.
In the middle of it all 18 did come home for dinner in a much better mood. I paused the movie and he ate the burritos while I continued in my cooking. We chatted about Grad Bash, he talked to about the Draft, and I reminded him and he called his aunt for her bday. I finished up my cooking and sat to finish watching Austin Regrets and he tossed himself on the sofa to watch some. Mumbled something about how anyone could watch this and showered to go to a party.
Alone again. I cleaned up the kitchen and watched the rest of the movies while crocheting.
SO RELAXING! It was wonderful. It was recharging. I really needed that. I didn't think, I didn't try to solve any problems, or plan anything. I just relaxed and cooked, watched movies and crocheted. PERFECT.
Then came Sunday and I had to think and do responsible stuff. But I don't' want to think about that. Reliving Saturday is much nicer.
Friday, April 25, 2008
I fell off the edge but I'm getting back up now...
I won't get into details because I know it will turn into a tirade and well I'm not doing that. Suffice it to say that GM is testing every fiber of my being. Friends have commented to me that I'm quite and they can tell something's wrong. I am really trying people. They say it's a ll a matter of outlook, attitude, happiness is a decision we make when we get up in the morning. It's hard people. I'm really trying. What my gut tells me I should be doing she doesn't want me to do. I think I should be her go to person, there to help her burden, her emergency contact, her helper in all things. I am none of those things because she doesn't want me to be. I don't think it's that I am hurt by it. I am truly struggling because I think I have an obligation and responsibility to be those things and I don't know how to do it when she doesn't want it. I have also been told by more than one Dr. over the years that all this strife that I have over her is making my physically unwell. OK, I'm rambling already and I didn't want to do that. You can only lead a horse to water, you can't make him drink. And GM doesn't even want to go near the water because I filled the trough. I don't know what she wants/expects from me and I truly think I just need to let go. I have been telling myself that for 3 weeks now. It's not easy. It's one of the hardest things I have ever done in my life. I'm trying. I'm really trying. I'm trying to do this and not feel like I'm failing. I have ordered some self-help books that have been recommended to me to help me through this and my next step is therapy which I am seriously considering if I feel like this much longer.
So, I am putting on a smile and focusing on my kids and on myself...things that make me happy...things that make me feel good about me....still praying for patience...taking baby steps.
Friday, April 04, 2008
Book Review
It was tough to read because well it's real. There are some very technical parts. I read more about ice climbing than I ever thought I would in this life time and yet I remember very of those details because I think that's when my eyes would glass over.
Typically I read during lunch. Someone who sees me read often actually stopped and asked me "Is it that bad?" I just looked up at him and didn't know how to respond and he went on to say "Your forehead is all scrunched up, your shoulders are tense. I've heard you laugh out loud and even seen you cry while reading but you look like this is painful." I explained what the book was about and he just thought I should read something more enjoyable. I took a deep breath, rolled out the kinks in my shoulders and plodded on slowly up the South Col of Everest.
The story itself is interesting and I guess by my physical reaction while reading, it was written well enough to put me there on the great mountain. But I can't say I enjoyed it. It just wasn't my cup of tea. If you like high adventure books, then this is for you but honestly, I probably could have been satisfied watching an interview. I will recommend this to few people because I don't think it's for just anyone.
Friday, March 21, 2008
Good-Bye
Wednesday, March 19, 2008
I'm not nosey...I just care!
When something is going on in my life or in the life of one close to me whether that thing is good or bad I tell certain people about it; my support group, if you will. I keep in touch with people, I believe in the power of positive thinking and in prayer. So, I spread the word. I don't rent a billboard but I tell a few choice people. Why? Because they care. At least I thought so. Because they are my friends. At least I thought so. Maybe we have different definitions of friends. But there are my "GoTo" people. I thought I was one of their "GoTo" people too. But I am finding out that more than one of these people recently had a parent hospitalized for testing or procedures and I didn't know about it. Maybe I'm not one of their GoTo people, I guess I don't have to be. Wow, I feel like I just told somebody I love them and they don't say it back -which has happened to me too. Maybe they don't realize I care. Maybe I need to ask. Maybe they just don't want me to know. Maybe I need to let this go.
Tuesday, March 18, 2008
Monday excitement!
I figure it's got to pick up from here.
Monday, March 17, 2008
What's cookin?
I got another box of organic fruit and veggies from my organic food co-op. This week I had 3 fresh beets in there along with lots of other goodies. But the beets were exciting because I have never made beets. There's the whole trauma with the messiness because of the staining and how exactly does one cook beets. WELL, a good friend of mine sent me some recipes and I ended up baking them like a baked potato. I wrapped them in foil and baked them at 400 for a little over an hour. Once they were done the skins came off with a paper towel. I par boiled the leaves and sliced them up in ribbons and tossed them with the sliced beets and feta cheese and toasted walnuts and olive oil and cider vinegar. It was really yummy! The mystique is over. It was really easy- who knew!
Then on Sunday we had another Cuban cooking class. We learned how to make Cuban chicken Soup. Now, I've made chicken soup. But it didn't taste like this. It was YUMMY and easy! The whole thing didn't take more than an hour and half tops - and I think I'm stretching it. If you want to learn how, check out the other blog for the recipe and step by step instructions over here. I brought some for lunch today. It's such a nice way to spend the day. We sat around and chatted with my friend's parents, you could see how much fun they were having and how much they were enjoying teaching us and talking to us. I am enjoying these 'classes' so much.
I think next month may be Natilla. I've got to work on planning that.
Wednesday, March 12, 2008
Tips: College
#1: Apply to anywhere you want to go even if financially is it out of your reach. If you get accepted the school will put together a package so that you can afford it.
#2: Apply to more than one school. Most applications ask you to list what other schools you are applying to. If they don't have any competition they are less likely to be in a hurry to accept you.
#3: Ask questions. I have spoken to the FinAid office of 3 very different schools and they are very nice, helpful and willing to answer questions and help educate you on the process.
#4: Fill out the FAFSA (the govt. financial aid form) which ALL the schools use early. Scholarship $ gets given away fast. It's a first come first serve type of deal.
#5: Negotiate! Call, walk thru the numbers with them. I flat out told her, look I can't afford the gap. He simply can't go because the cost is prohibitive. She worked with me and I got and additional 15% in scholarship $. My son is going to the school he wants which is waaaay out of my reach and his aid package comes out to 75% of the cost. The cost not tuition, annual cost, that includes room & board, meals, books, incidentals and a couple trips home.
I did this yesterday and I feel like I won the lottery!
Monday, March 10, 2008
Balance?
Fri...
Bought/gathered the goods to make the pañales, cut up and sewed the hems and prepped the rest for the road trip, up until midnight when 15 and his friends got picked up for his weekender (I didn't see him again until Sunday at 10:30- when I got home), forgot to make Sat's dinner. The best laid plans....
Sat...
Up at 4:15 making breakfast to fuel a long distance runner, left the house in the dark at 5:45 with hubby to Sebastian thinking I'll keep sleeping in the car. The rainstorm of the century decided to come down upon us and I was wide awake with hubs trying to make sure that we stayed in our lane and not hit anything. Everyone driving with their hazards on at 20 mph with minimal visibility. Are we having fun yet!? We did that forever (read: a good hour) and then it finally started letting up. Who can sleep now? I'm wide awake so begin crocheting in the car. WE finally make it to The Meet miraculously on time, with 15 minutes to spare. It's freezing! The wind it blowing 30 mph (read: 30 mph- seriously!) Gratefully, I find a windbreaker in the trunk of the car because I'm in short sleeves and brought a broad rimmed floppy straw hat for sun shade! We find the team and settle in the bleachers, 18 is in the first race the 4x800. He runs well but the wind made a difference in the times. The team came in 6th in that event. Well, we got points for the team. I spent the entire day sitting in the stand crocheting off and on, tossing drinks down to kids on the track, handing out snacks and food in the stands, hubby made a run to the grocery store, we all got sunburned and were cold. Lots' s of good fun. The races were awesome. We placed in everything we competed in except the discus and shotput. We were in 1st or 2nd place the entire morning. After the lunch break we were in 1st but only by a few points. It was tight all afternoon. The final race, 4x400, we are up by only 6 points. Our cross-town district rivals are in second place, this is their best event. 18 was the first leg, he ran a close 2nd, we ended up in 7th place giving us 2 more points and our rivals came in 2nd place giving them the 9 points they needed to win The Meet by one point! it was very exciting. Our boys ran their hearts out. We drove back, beat just beat! Showered while dinner got delivered, ate and to bed.
Sunday...
Slept in till 9:30. Nice. But by the time I came out of the bathroom hubby tells me its 10:40. WHAT! I was in there for 10 minutes not an hour! He gives me some crap about Spring forward. Whatever! After breakfast, I proceeded to wash, dry and fold 637 loads of laundry (precisely that many), make a grocery list for hubby, pick up for the cleaning lady that's coming on Mon., all while watching The Bridcage. I love that movie. It's hysterical! I cooked the meat for tomorrow's dinner...yeah! and left at 5:00 to go have amazing Indian food with my girlfriends. Boy was that delish!
Not exactly the balanced weekend I planned but there ya go. Life got in the way again. But it's all good; a good time was had by all.
Friday, March 07, 2008
Weekend planning
Tonight I am making Carne con Papa to leave done for tomorrow's dinner. That way we have food ready to eat when we get home for dinner. Tonight I am making fish for me and dad and Shrimp Alfredo for the runner because he needs the carbs. Plus I will do a little scrapping after I get everything ready for tomorrow.
Sunday, I want to sew. I have some pillow forms and a pink fluffy material that I bought a while back to make pillows for my niece. I am also going to dinner with my girlfriends. We are going to try a vegetarian Indian restaurant. I also need to update my agenda with dates for other track meets and a few other things the kids have told me about. Plus I have some Thank you cards to send out.
If I actually do these things then I will have actually done like all my favorite things in one weekend! It sounds like an aggressive list to me. Let's see how it turns out.
Thursday, March 06, 2008
On the Road...
I have been thinking of what to do in the car on the drive up and back and during the incredible amount of down time that there will be all day. I mean yes, I will watch and root for the other racers form our school but let's face it I am going to be there ALL day.
I'm taking a book to read and I was thinking of taking a new project (since I haven't finished any others why not start a new one?) I think I'm going to make some baby things for a couple of friends who's daughter's are pregnant. I could embroider a bib or crochet a border on a 'pañal' Cuban-style baby blanket. Either of those projects are portable and can actually get done in a day if you work on it. Hmmm... I may actually already own most of these supplies. I'll have to check tonight. Because if I don't I can hit the craft store on my lunch hour tomorrow. Exciting a new project! I'll let you know if it happens and how far I get. I need to start taking pictures of this stuff and learning how to post them. But that would be another project. ;)
Wednesday, March 05, 2008
Morning talk.
As we drive to my office, Hubby keeps looking at his watch I'm going to be late because you were talking to 18 plus I forgot to take out dinner because you interrupted me. I almost choked on the last bite of my sandwich. Apparently, I interrupted his morning when I asked if he was in a hurry and then I decided to have a leisurely chat with 18 about money. Who knew!? My people don't do well in the morning with words...ya think?!
Tuesday, March 04, 2008
MARCH!
My good deed for today was surprising my GM at the Rehab Center for breakfast. I took her a pastelito and cafe con leche on my way in to work. I have the car today because the boys have a Track meet and go on the bus. She was surprised to see me since I didn't call first. She loved the pastelito and ate that plus the breakfast they gave her. And I took her and her neighbor a couple of books. For my GM, Mario Puzo's "The Godfather" and for her neighbor one in Spanish because she doesn't read English by Isabel Allende.
It was a nice way for me to start the day too.
Monday, March 03, 2008
Cuban cooking
I have been wanting to do this for years. I have talked about doing this for years with family and friends and it's finally happened. I am so happy about it. It means a lot to me. I don't know if I can put it into words but here goes. I didn't grow up here in Miami. I grew up in Northern Virgina and so my sense of "being Cuban" is VERY different from that of my friends who all grew up here.
In fact, growing up my family didn't talk a lot about Cuba and their life there, their exodus etc. I caught bits and pieces because I learned early on how to sit quietly and listen. Grown ups tend to forget that you are there and you pick up on all kinds of things. In any event, the gist is that Cuba wasn't a part of my upbringing the same way it is if you grow up here in Miami. My parents and grandparents all spoke perfect English. I didn't even study Spanish in high school. I studied French and by the time I graduated high school I spoke that better than Spanish. My Spanish was negligible and I couldn't read or write it all.
My grandparents and parents actually went to school here in the states and therefore acclimated very easily to American life. They had homes in the states, in Cuba, Madrid, Miami and Tampa since the early 30's and travelled back and forth with ease. My parents were very American and brought us up that way. I didn't grow up on the Cuban-American hyphen. My mother was adamant that we were American. I know that was a sore spot between my parents. My grandparents and father were very active in politics (that was why they relocated to Northern Va.) and therefore made many friends and enemies Cubans, Cuban-Americans and Americans alike. My father always put me and my brother in the forefront of any march or protest. I don't remember all the causes but I remember all the arguments. My mother always won only allowing us to participate if we carried American flags not Cuban flags because we are American not Cuban. Period. And so with that as a background, you can understand that meals at my home were meatloaf and mashed potatoes not palomilla and frijoles. My grandmother never cooked anything, it's just not her style. My paternal grandmother was the cook and although she ended up in Elizabeth NJ, working in a factory after her jet-set life, I always thought of her as my only proof of 'being Cuban'. Since she lived so far away, I never shared those things with her but I am always told that I am a lot like her.
I didn't grow up with the Cuban smells, sounds and tastes. I only experienced that in the summers when I would come to visit in Miami. It was a whole other world. Honestly, I never thought I'd live here. I always associated Miami with vacation not life, work and real world stuff. Nevertheless, here I am. For years, I talked about learning to cook the recipes that my husband's grandmothers made for us by heart, with a pinch of this and a little of that. Sadly, it never happened and we have since said good-bye to both of those ladies. And as I am now watching his parents, aunts and uncles get older and a little more tired I am determined to learn these things because I want to be able to pass them on to my grandkids and not have these meals just be a memory that my kids talk about to them but I want to pass them on to them.
I know there are a million restaurants that we can go to and buy the food already made but it's not the same. (I'm the one who makes Thanksgiving completely from scratch-just because.) When one of my kids ends up in Timbuktu and I can make Arroz con Pollo or Carne Asada and Flan, it will bring back a flood of memories and help create new ones for others. I love when 18 walks in the house when I am making Ropa Vieja and says "It smells like abuela's house when I was little." It makes me smile.
The kitchen is the heart of the home and I don't want to loose the Cuban beats. That's why I was so excited about the lesson a few weekends ago and look forward to those to come. We were taught to make ham croquettes. When my husband bit into a freshly fried one he said "I remember these." I later fried a few to take to my GM at the rehab center and when she took the first bit she said they were just like when she was little. It brought tears to my eyes. It took her to such a happy place and that meant so much to me to be able to do that. Memories...more and more I am convinced that's what it's all about...memories. Que siga la tradicion...
Mom, I know I'm American but I think I am much more than that and I embrace it all.
Tuesday, February 26, 2008
A Raisin in the Sun
A remake of the movie was on TV last night. It was excellent. Phylicia Rashad, Sean Combs, Audra McDonald and Sanaa Lathan were all perfectly cast. The story is 1959 but it's today too. Unfortunately, you still see the racism - at least I do. The story is about family, family bonds, family ties, family dreams. Each member of the family has their dreams, everyone supports one another at the same time pushing and pulling and dreams get broken and sacrificed for the family. 1959 and it covers everything from poverty, race discrimination, civil rights, women's rights, protest, social assimilation, abortion, religion. So many heavy topics in such a short glimpse of the family - the story only covers a few days.
This group of actors is the same one that performed the revival of the play on Broadway. I would love to see them live. It was 3 hours last night with all the commercials and I probably cried for 2 of them as I watched them all stumble and fall and get up again. It was excellent....everyone should see/read this story. Kudos Ms. Lorraine Hansbery. I can't imagine writing this and publishing it in 1959. Now I want to see the original movie with Sydney Poitier.
Monday, February 25, 2008
Lights, Camera, Action!
So, I went to my Netflix and proceeded to add ALL of the movies that have won Best Picture in Oscar's 80 years. Lower your eyebrows! I've seen half! I added 40 movies to my Netflix including last night's winner. Let's see if I can get hubby to watch some of those old ones!
You will be hearing more about this.
Wednesday, February 20, 2008
Good-Bye
I met Beba when her husband passed away and she was already suffering from the short term memory loss and the beginning of Alzheimer but she was a wonderful lady. From the stories she told, the way she carried herself and the stories I have heard from her daughter I can tell you she was someone I would have loved to know 20 years ago. Her strength of character, her love of life was all very apparent.
The service was nice... a few hours at the funeral parlor and then a mass. It was a weekday and so some people went to one thing or the other only a few to both. I think Beba would have liked that too. I don't think she would have wanted a big fuss- that wasn't her style- she wouldn't want to disrupt everyone's day completely but different people comig and going visiting and catching up, looking at pictures, saying good-bye, going to mass - I think that was her style. The mass was in Spanish as it should have been for Beba. The presided priest, clearly a Spaniard, said some lovely things not all of which were understood because of his stong Spanish accent. And ya know I think Beba was chuckling because ya know there had to be little something to stand out and make the event memorable. It just fit.
After the service we went to Versailles for lunch. As hubby calls it 'Ground Zero for the Cuban Exiles', we took the friends from the West Coast to eat traditional Cuban Food. I don't think it was by accident that we were 5 but they sat us at a table for 6. The extra spot ws for Beba encouraging us to entertain the out of town friends and introduce them to something new.
So, I had a Mojito for Beba and ate too much and spent the rest of the day hanging with my friends because I think that's was Beba would have wanted. I see her hand in hand with her husband, who I know she missed terribly because she always talked about him when I saw her and they lovingly watched us enjoying each other's company. So, bye Beba, say hi to my mom she's the one on the dance floor laughing.
Monday, February 18, 2008
Lovely
Saturday, after running errands early and doing house chores, I had lunch at home with hubby. Nothing special, just reheated leftovers from the crappy week but it was just the 2 of us and we sat and talked and it was nice.
We then went and picked up 18 at the airport from his week in DC. Heard a bunch of stories, he had a great time. We had an early dinner and all 4 four of us just sat around after dinner and 18 told us stories and we updated him on things from our week. It was nice. It all seemed so "grown-up". Hubby and I commented later that it was a little surreal that those were our children seeming like adult friends. Again, it was nice. Saturday night hubby and I hung out together and watched Tivo and folded clothes and sorted some pictures that I will be scrapping.
Sunday, I didn't have time to make the usual waffle breakfast for the boys because they slept in and I had the first cooking class that day but I left them the batter ready to go and was happy to hear later that they made their own waffles when they each got up. Of course, hubby commented that he hopes they ate more than they spilled all over the counter.
The cooking class... I am organizing cuban cooking classes to pass down home recipies to this generation. This was our inaugural class. it was at one of my best friends' mom's house. We learned to make ham croquettes. It was fabulous. Such a wonderful time. During the downtime form the actual cooking we sat aroudn and she showed us on old photo album and we talked about all sorts of things: Cuba, our kids, comparing the raising of kids from their times to our times to our kids, music etc.. It was soooooo nice!
When I got home 18 had me fry up some croquettes right away and loved them. We had another easy nice dinner and then the boys went out. I did some scrapping and hubby watched TV and we called it an early night around 11.
Such an easy, pleasant weekend. I wish everyday could be that way....
Thursday, February 14, 2008
not a good week
Monday, February 11, 2008
Not today
Now he says, we need to extract 2 teeth, well he wants 2 today and 4 another day. Can you say cha-ching$! No, not today, I say. After some prodding, ok I say. Take one. I have to go to work, I have a ton of stuff to do. I go put more coinage in the meter and use the ladies room. I don't want to tinkle when they extract. They reviewed the insurance. It's better if they take 2 today. Insurance- wise. They will cover more $ and so now I have to say yes. I don't understand. I stop listening, thinking I shouldn't have come. So, I had two teeth pulled this morning. The novacaine is wearing off and I'm at work. I think I'm going to go get a Jamba Juice and head home as soon as this last report finishes printing. I have the envelopes all set to send it out and then I'm outta here. Here's to better bloggin tomorrow...
Thursday, February 07, 2008
Ham
Close-up is a week long trip he is taking with school to DC to do various activities to see learn the workings of our government. He is leaving on Sunday. He has a teacher who apparently loved Ham the Chimp as a kid and has a stuffed Ham now. Ham has traveled to many places but has never gone to Close-Up and 18 is taking him. He will take pictures of him at the various places they go to document the trip and is hoping that when he meets our Representatives he can get them to pose with Ham. This is his goal for the trip. I am gushing with pride. A week long field trip in DC in an election year to learn the what's what and he wants to get snazzy pictures of a stuffed chimp. I have paid thousands of dollars for his private school education people, thousands! I'm just hoping he learns more than Ham does. Gimme patience!
Monday, February 04, 2008
The can't keep up so Dots it is...
* My first food co-op was a sucess. It's all organic not necessarily locally grown but obtained through a local organic farmer. Anyway, I had star fruit which was delish! I had never had it before. It was YUMmy! 18 liked it too. I got: lettuce, apples, pears, bananas, carrots, potatoes, broccoli, mushrooms, tomatoes, and something else who's name I forgot but I didn't like it. I will find out again and blog about it later. Everything has been yummy except for that one fruit.
* 15 hit the streets this weekend. I have been taking him to the local community college to practice driving in their ample parking lots on the weekends. Well, this weekend he drove on "real streets" for the first time. We both survived. All I can say is I'm glad I don't have anymore kids, twice has been more than enough for me to teach someone to drive. Swallowing my nerves and not letting him see my nails gouging into my thighs is exhausting. A couple more weeks with just me and he's ready for dad and his brother. Then he will start doing the drving for most family outings to prepare to get his liscense in July. OMG! Hands down the hardest thing to do as a parent is hand them the keys. All control is gone then. Talk about severing the umbilical card!
* What did I see; I saw Jarhead and Fantastic Four. Both were what I expected. I don't know if I mentioned before but I found out that a childhood friend became an actor. My kids know of him. His Hollywood name is Laz Alonso. He has a supporting role in Jarhead and it's a big one. It was cool to see him and remember him as a little kid.
* I made chili for the superbowl. We went to some friends house and a bunch of us watched it together. Let's define together.... the diehard/true football fans watched in one room on a 60" screen TV, in the livivng room all our kids who were semi-interested in the game/commericals but mostly in hanging with their friends watched, and in yet another room, the wives who talked over the game and watched the commercials watched.
* My GMs ALF has called because she doesn't want to take her heart meds. She insists that she has no heart *issues*, wasn't operated and doesn't have a pacemaker. God grant me the serenity....
* Today is Monday! Best thing about Mondays....the cleaning lady is at my house. I will get home to that just cleaned smell! Love it!
Wednesday, January 30, 2008
A few things...
* 15 enjoyed his weekend sans big brother. He says next year is gonna be great! He doesn't have to wait for anyone else to use the bathroom. Doesn't have to yell at his brother to turn the light off of the bathroom which apparently bothers 15 from his room (who knew), he can have his music on louder and it doesn't bother anyone, he can play PS II whenever he wants. When I told him I hadn't realized they had so many issues he stopped and corrected me. They are "issues" he explained, it's just stuff that's not important, no big deal in life but it will be nice when the stuff is gone. He's got such an easy going personality, it amazes me.
* The weekend was easy. It just flowed without complaint. We told 18 this because he was home no less than 15 minutes before he was witching and moaning about stuff and the 3 of us looked at each other and said welcome back! and laughed.
* 18 had a great time. He wasn't expecting to (such an optimist, no?) but he liked the school, the area, the people, the coaches, everything. Says if he could have registered for school right then he would have and just not come back. I'm glad he liked it.
* Last night 18 commented on how refreshed he was even though he was physically tired. He concluded that it was the trip. He had really needed to just get away, the break did him good. He decided everyone should do this often - just get away and break up the routine. Hubby told him in the real world it's called vacation. We all laughed.
* I am still scrapping. Not the football stuff, even though I have more football stuff to scrap for my son. But my in-laws brought over a bunch of loose pictures that they found that he thought I might like. From hubby as a baby through our kids as babies. So, we grouped them together and I have been scrapping all those pictures, I have done 12 pages in 3 nights. They are coming out beautiful as I get more and more confident and creative with my layouts.
* We have a TON of work at work- Yuck! We are working too many hours.
* I signed up for GoodReads and so far I have a bunch of friends but haven't done much else with that. I need to enter the books but you know, I'm scrapping.
* I joined a Food Co-op thing. I'm not sure what I am going to get but I'm going to try it. A co-workers daughter was trying to round up a group of people and so they convinced me. Right now we are going to do it every 2 weeks, we'll see if it changes to weekly. For $25 I will get a box of produce. Right now she is going to Homestead and picking it up but maybe eventually we'll take turns, carpool, whatever. it's very casual, you can cancel anytime, no subscription or season of weeks to buy. My co-worker said that they got bananas, tomatoes, lettuce some squash and fabulous corn. Let's see how this goes.
That's all I can think of for now....
Friday, January 25, 2008
And then there were 3...
Meanwhile, back at the ranch... we are making plans without him. It's a little odd. Him and I share a car and the fact that I don't need to coordinate outings etc with him and have more 'freedom' with the planning it nice. 15 is liking it too. He's the center of attention. It has always been coordinating everyone's needs and this weekend the needs are pared down to only household and 15.
I'm not saying I won't miss him. I'm just saying wow, this will be a little more relaxing because it's just less. I think I could learn to like that. We'll see how it works out.
Thursday, January 24, 2008
Going Bananas.
So, hubby laughs saying "Other weeks I only get 3 or 4 and they sit there and go bad." He just can't figure it out. I tell him well, if I ate 5 bananas in a couple of days that would last me for a while so next week he probably won't eat any. Of course, I am probably wrong on this banana thing. We really haven't done a long term study on this but we probably could because honestly we talk about bananas in my house every week. First, when we ask if anyone want anything from the grocery store? Bananas are always in the mix. Then during the week, if they are gone (they are ALWAYS put in the same plate in the same place) a child may ask "Are there any more bananas? Where are they?" Answer: you got it - if they're not on the plate then you ate them! OR you may hear a parent say to no one in particular, "Isn't anyone eating bananas? They are going to go bad!" Well, obviously if they are going bad, no one is eating them.
We are a very astute bunch when it comes to bananas. Riveting stuff. I know.
Wednesday, January 23, 2008
The Banquet
I was worried that there wouldn't be enough food and kept saying when it's gone it's gone. Many took home trays of leftovers. We laughed out butts off as the delivery guy kept coming back with more and more trays. Tooo funny. We joked that they made a mistake and gave us food for 2000 instead of 200 LOL!
We hired a company to make a highlight DVD of the season to take that task away from the coach and let him have time for other things- you know like coaching. I was concerned about the music selection, the pictures, the whole thing. Everyone loved it. I got orders to buy more after the viewing.
The coach spoke. It was lovely. The team captains, all seniors, one of them my son all got up and said some words of thanks etc. It was beautiful got us all choked up. It was even fun watching them try to keep composure as some of their teammates tried to make them laugh. All good fun. An assistant coach spoke and got teary eyed as he spoke about all the team had accomplished and what it meant to all of them. Very emotional, more than one of us had tears in our eyes.
Then we handed out the scrapbooks we have been working on for months. The boys started flipping through them right away. We had a page in the back for Autographs. We thought they might think it was mushy and not do it. I handed them all pens. They immediately pulled out their sheets and started passing them around to get signed. It was a beautiful thing.
The whole night was a success. A beautiful recap to a great season. The camaraderie, the bonding between the teammate and the respect and love from player to coaches. It was all great.
Of course, we already made plans to get together so that we don't loose our connection with each other. I think I've made some good new friends in all of this and that's always a good thing, you can never have too many friends. Life is good!
Monday, January 21, 2008
The Mayonnaise Jar plus...
A professor stood before his philosophy class and had some items in front of him. When the class began, wordlessly, he picked up a very large and empty mayonnaise jar and proceeded to fill it with golf balls. He then asked the students if the jar was full. They agreed that it was.
The professor then picked up a box of pebbles and poured them into the jar. He shook the jar lightly. The pebbles rolled into the open areas between the golf balls. He then asked the students again if the jar was full. They agreed it was.
The professor next picked up a box of sand and poured it into the jar. Of course, the sand filled up everything else. He asked once more if the jar was full. The students responded with a unanimous 'YES.'
The professor then produced two glasses of wine from under the table and poured the entire contents into the jar, effectively filling the empty space between the sand. The students laughed.
'Now,' said the professor, as the laughter subsided, 'I want you to recognize that this jar represents your life:
The golf balls are the important things; your family, your children, your health, your friends, and your favorite passions; things that if everything else was lost and only they remained, your life would still be full.'
The pebbles are the other things that matter like your job, your house, and your car.
The sand is everything else; the small stuff. 'If you put the sand into the jar first,' he continued, 'There is no room for the pebbles or the golf balls. The same goes for life. If you spend all your time and energy on the small stuff, you will never have room for the things that are important to you.'
'Pay attention to the things that are critical to your happiness. Play with your children. Take time to get medical checkups. Take your partner out to dinner. Play another 18. Do one more run down the ski slope. There will always be time to clean the house and fix the disposal. Take care of the golf balls first; the things that really matter. Set your priorities.
The rest is just sand!
One of the students raised her hand and inquired what the wine represented.
The professor smiled. 'I'm glad you asked. It just goes to show you that no matter how full your life may seem, there's always room for a couple of glasses of wine with a friend.
I had heard the Mayo Jar story part but not with the 2 glasses of wine. I like that addition because that's the part I need to work on. Keeping connected with friends. I'm not good at that.
Friday, January 18, 2008
Still scrappin'
The book is 44 pages and includes all aspects of their Senior year of football. We still have 2 pages to do! There are 9 books that are complete (sans 2 pages) and 21 books that are like a third of the way there. I have thoroughly enjoyed having everyone over, laying out the pages and even looking for the stuff but if I don't have to think in multiple of 30 again that would be a good things as far as I am concerned.
In the process 2 of the moms have become scrappers and we plan on getting together to add a few more special pages for our boys later but see 3 of something is much easier to get than 30 or 60 or 90!
Wednesday, January 16, 2008
Tips for an Exceptional, Superb &Powerful Life!
Tips for an Exceptional, Superb & Powerful Life!
1.) Take a 10-30 minute walk every day. And while you walk, smile. It is the ultimate antidepressant.
2.) Sit in silence for at least 10 minutes each day. Buy a lock if you have to.
3.) Buy a Tivo (DVR), tape your late night shows and get more sleep.
4.) When you wake up in the morning complete the following statement, 'My purpose is to________ today.'
5.) Live with the 3 E's -- Energy, Enthusiasm, and Empathy.
6.) Watch more movies, play more games and read more books than you did last year.
7.) Always pray and make time to exercise.
8.) Spend more time with people over the age of 70 and under the age of Six.
9.) Dream more while you are awake.
10.) Eat more foods that grow on trees and plants and eat less foods that are manufactured in plants.
11.) Drink green tea and plenty of water. Eat blueberries, wild Alaskan salmon, broccoli, almonds & walnuts.
12.) Try to make at least three people smile each day.
13.) Clear your clutter from your house, your car, your desk and let new and flowing energy into your life.
14.) Don't waste your precious energy on gossip, energy vampires, issues of the past, negative thoughts or things you cannot control. Instead, invest your energy in the positive present moment.
15.) Realize that life is a school and you are here to learn. Problems are simply part of the curriculum that appear and fade away like algebra class .......but the lessons you learn will last a lifetime.
16.) Eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince and dinner like a college kid with a maxed out charge card.
17.) Smile and laugh more. It will keep the energy vampires away.
18.) Life isn't fair, but it's still good.
19.) Life is too short to waste time hating anyone.
20.) Don't take yourself so seriously. No one else does.
21.) You don't have to win every argument. Agree to disagree.
22.) Make peace with your past so it won't screw up the present.
23.) Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
24.) Ladies - Go on and burn those 'special' scented candles, use the 600 thread count sheets, the good china and wear our fancy lingerie now. Stop waiting for a special occasion. Everyday is special.
25.) No one is in charge of your happiness except you.
26.) Frame every so-called disaster with these words: 'In five years, will this matter?'
27.) Forgive everyone for everything.
28.) What other people think of you is none of your business.
29.) Time heals almost everything. Give time, time!
30.) However good or bad a situation is, it will change.
31.) Your job won't take care of you when you are sick. Your friends will. Stay in touch with them.
32.) Get rid of anything that isn't useful, beautiful or joyful.
33.) Envy is a waste of time. You already have all you need. God provides remember?!
34.) The best is yet to come. (in Heaven)
35.) No matter how you feel, get up, dress up and show up.
36.) Do the right thing!
37.) Call your family often.
38.) Each night before you go to bed complete the following statements: 'I am thankful for __________.' Today I accomplished _________.
39.) Remember that you are too blessed to be stressed.
40.) Enjoy the ride. Remember that this is not Disney World and you certainly don't want a fast pass. You only have one ride through life so make the most of it and enjoy the ride.
LIVE, LOVE, LAUGH. LIFE'S A GIFT ... UNWRAP IT!
Have a Blessed day. Please share with friends!
Tuesday, January 15, 2008
Quick list
* Why am I busy? Because next week if the banquet for 18s football team and I am the coordinator and it's for like 200 people and I haven't got the food set yet and so far I really only have tablecloths and plates and we need to finish 30 scrapbooks for the Seniors and I don't even have all of the collages yet or enough refill pages for all the scrapbooks and and well you get the picture.
* After living in Miami since 1983 I finally went to Knauss Berry Farm. Friends took me on Saturday morning. It's a lovely ride to a fresh fruit, veggie, baked good stand open only for a short season run by what a friend endearingly calls quasi-Amish. I bought their famous and delicious sticky buns, key lime pie, cherry pie, raisin bread, 9-grain bread, strawberry jam, hot pepper guava jam, strawberries, tomatoes (red & green), scallions, zucchini, yellow squash, green & red peppers, oregano, cilantro and a bag of mixed salad greens. I think that's everything. It's all yummy! and I so enjoyed it and now I know where it is and can go whenever I want. YEAH!!
* I had to send my sewing machine back because it was missing some accessories and apparently its a bundled package and they can't just send me the missing parts but have to get this one back and resend a whole new one! Whatever, they are paying for the shipping since it was their mistake.
* I went to a book reading. The book was "The Geography of Bliss". The author is a friend of a friend. The subject sounds fascinating and I can't wait to read the book. I have been thinking about it a lot - being happy that is and I think it will be interesting. Granted he told us one of the things was to not over think it but I think I need to think about it. I'll let you know how that works out.
*18 has now been accepted at 3 universities, Xavier University in Cincinnati, Loyola in New Orleans and FIU in Miami. AND Union College in upstate NY is going to fly him up to see the school. They are interested in him playing football. Catholic University in DC is also interested in him playing football but they told him they didn't have budget to pay for a visit. We shall see what happens with all of that.
* I have talked about learning to cook Cuban food for a few years. I have wanted to learn all the home recipes from the moms and grandmas but it never happens. Well this year its going to. I've gathered a small group of friends and we are going to use our moms and inlaws to teach us their recipes to pass them on to the next generation. I am so looking forward to it. We are starting with croquettes. Trust me you will hear much more about this.
* I recently saw the movie "Zodiac". Obviously, the topic is uber-scary as it's about the Zodiac killer. The movie is very well done. The camera work is excellent. It starts in 1968 and goes well into the '80s and maybe even '90s I forgot already but it is really well done. They were never able to convict anyone or even arrest anyone for all those murders but it shows you how it haunted and affected so many how were investigating it. How they were convinced of a suspect but frustrated at not being able to prove it. I don't know what's up next on the Netflix queue.
* I'm excited about Masterpiece Theater airing all of Jane Austen's novels. I Tivod the first one Persuasion. Who knows when I will be able to sit and watch it but I'm looking forward to it.
That's all for now....
Tuesday, January 08, 2008
'Twas the week after Christmas...
'Twas the week after Christmas, and all through the house
Nothing would fit me, not even a blouse.
The cookies I'd nibbled, the eggnog I'd taste
At the holiday parties had gone to my waist.
When I got on the scales there arose such a number!
When I walked to the store (less a walk than a lumber).
I'd remember the marvelous meals I'd prepared;
The gravies and sauces and beef nicely rared,
The wine and the rum balls, the bread and the cheese
And the way I'd never said, "No thank you, please."
As I dressed myself in my husband's old shirt
And prepared once again to do battle with dirt
I said to myself, as I only can
"You can't spend a winter disguised as a man!"
So away with the last of the sour cream dip,
Get rid of the fruit cake, every cracker and chip
Every last bit of food that I like must be banished
"Till all the additional ounces have vanished.
I won't have a cookie - not even a lick.
I'll want only to chew on a long celery stick.
I won't have hot biscuits, or corn bread, or pie,
I'll munch on a carrot and quietly cry.
I'm hungry, I'm lonesome, and life is a bore
But isn't that what January is for?
Unable to giggle, no longer a riot.
Happy New Year to all and to all a good diet!
~Author Unknown~
She sent it to me Author Unknown. I tried to find it on the web and came up with unknown too. If you are better at searching than me and feel so inclined and find out who should be credited with authorship, please let me know.
Friday, January 04, 2008
New Year's Party
Ok, here it is, the long awaited for (LOL!- what fools you are!) formal e-vite to the annual New Year's Eve Party/Bash/Extravaganza (still laughing!)...I am only sending it because some of you have told me that you need a formal invite to my house. So, here it is:
You, your families, anyone you want or feel obligated to kiss at midnight are invited to Our House New Year's Eve. As in the past, I provide the house, the grapes and the champagne (sparkling cider for the kiddies). You must bring your happy selves and anything else required to make your evening a success.
Everyone is welcome, young and old alike, extended families, girlfriends, kids friends whoever! My teens will both be in attendance (yes, they already know and apparently aren't fighting it this year as I was told they each have invited people- yea me- they gave in!)
Reminder or in case you are a first timer: I have a pool that is not child proofed. You are responsible for watching/chasing/jumping in after your own child. Although there are usually many grandmas around keeping an eye on that. Dress: casual (unless your tradition requires dress-up) but your kids will probably be playing basketball in the back or football in the grass up front. Do not be surprised if they end up dirty and sweaty. Music: we have a DJ (15s friend, has once again stepped up for the show) who we happily coerce into playing whatever we want so that everyone dances (unless you don't want to). The selection will include everything from Partridge Family to Tim McGraw to Chirino, Celia Cruz, Madonna, Beyonce and beyond. Food: If you want to eat it, bring it and a little to share. There is always a ton as typically y'all don't know how to bring just one thing and bring multiple items - not that I'm complaining ;)
Traditions: We already do the following:
* eat 12 grapes (provided by moi; good luck for each month of the new year)
* champagne toast (provided by moi; because we like it ;))
* toss a bucket of water out the front door (one rep from each family please) (representing the dirty water from the cleaning of the house that day to 'throw out the evil spirits' )
* eat lentils (provided by M's mom for prosperity and fortune in the new year)
* parade around the perimeter of the house with luggage (I provide backpacks and other bags that we share, to provide travel in the upcoming new year)
If you have another tradition, bring it and we'll do it with you!
RSVP (or not). I'd like a head count to have a clue how much champagne to get but if you say no today and decide yes on the 31st, PLEASE just show up! There's always room for more. The door will be open, just walk on in and make your way to the back. The celebration goes on rain or shine or cold (Bwahahaha- you think it gets cold here!) We've put up tarps before and I also have a coffee bar set up to warm you or sober you up.
I think I covered everything, if not just ask! :) Hope to see you. If not, I hope you ring in the new year with health, love and laughter all around you!
Some of the yeses turned into nos, the maybes were all no shows. So the next day a final tally brought us to 60 people and we planned for 70 so, pretty good. There were a couple of new families that came this year and I hope we didn't scare them off with all of our funky traditions. We were reminded of one that I had forgotten: to wear yellow underwear. I am told it's a Costa Rican thing and I really wasn't told what it's for but no matter next year I will ask Santa for new yellow undies.
18 was actually sick and didn't make an appearance until after midnight and we laughed when he told us that he put 2 pillows over his head when he heard the Christina Aguilera song "Genie in a Bottle" come on. You see when that song came on everyone started chanting for hubby. He dances like a genie- it's quite a sight! You know that DirectTV commercial with Beyonce. Well hubby says he's perfectly those moves for next year- OMG! moving on...I was able to get all of the boys to dance this year. Most of them are in their teens and get very embarrassed but that's my job, to embarrass children, and I am very good at it. The most difficult of the bunch, one of 18s best friends, was obliged to get up and 'teach me a version of Solja Boy'. It was lots of fun.
I can't wait until next year as each one gets bigger and better... good friends, lots of family, good fun...happy new year!
Wednesday, January 02, 2008
Baby it's cold outside...
Monday, December 31, 2007
Last day....
The bad part of the day was finding out that a friends mom fell and fractured her hip and requires surgery and she spent the day in the hospital and that sucks.
I am working today, I have between 70-80 people coming to my house tonight and I am working. Everything is really done, I mean hubby is just cleaning the plastic chairs and setting up tables outside. Everything else is done. The cleaning lady is there today and she will clean the bathrooms and give the kitchen a final once over and I will come home to a freshly cleaned smelling home. Too bad we are going to undo all that a few hours later. Oh well! C'est la vie!
I sincerely wish everyone a new year of good health and happiness!
Friday, December 28, 2007
I got...
My boys did real good this year, they covered ALL of my hobbies. 18 got me the Readers Digest Complete Step-by-Step Book of Sewing. It's awesome. 15 got me a clear drawer storage center for all of my scrapping goodies. It has wheels so I can take it from room to room wherever I set up to scrap. Can't wait to fill it. Hubby got me a pocket pedometer. yes, I wanted one. The idea is to exercise more in 08 by adding more steps to my day. He also got me a subscription to Cooks Illustrated magazine. Oh, yeah and 18 also got me the book March, which was on my list of books I wanted. My dad got me a bunch of sewing notions: a cute pin cushion, pretty pins, a bobbin case, small scissors, a seam ripper gadget, extra needles for the sewing machine, a tape measure etc. My SIL gave me a beautiful scrapbook the cover is a gorgeous red silk. I will make that book themed of Christmas through the years. My MIL gave me a gift card which I promptly spent on new bed linens. A friend gave us a new board game which I hope to break out and play on the 1st and start the new year playing games with friends eating leftovers from the party the night before and of course watching the Bowl games. That sounds good to me.
Bucket List
Thursday, December 27, 2007
Time together
Wednesday, December 26, 2007
Here I am!
I had a lovely Christmas...Eve was spend with the family at my in-laws... good food...good company...good fun! and Christmas day we spent a lazy morning at home and then headed to my SILs and visited my dad too as he lives near her. The nephews got a Wii, so we spent hours playing guitar hero and boxing and tennis and and I knocked out my 18 playing the boxing. It really is quite a workout! Lots of fun.
18 and SIL both bought my hubby the SAME pullover shirt. We thought that was a hoot because with ALL the stores in S.FLA. and all the pullovers how did the 2 of them pick the same one. But then SIL and I both bought her boys the same book, her 6 year old was very confused that Santa would duplicate like that but we told him that he's really old and sometimes old people forget stuff and make mistakes. He said it was ok, that he forgave him because he brought lots of other cool things.
I did lots of baking all season, lots of shopping, lots of wrapping, lots of visiting, lots of cooking, some scrapping and other things too. I can't write about it all now.
Oh, another fun thing happened. When we got home from MILs on Xmas eve, there was a white envelope sticking out of out mailbox. I asked 18 to get it since it had been raining off and on so that it wouldn't get wet. He pulled it out and I see that its a big 8x10 envelope.
ME: Where's it from?
18: Loyola
Me: Congratulations!
18: How do you know I got in? It could be a rejection letter.
Me: Rejections are short and sweet; acceptances are think with information.
He goes inside and opens it. He was accepted to Loyola in New Orleans.
Hubby: So Santa came by and you don't even believe!
I hope everyone enjoyed their holidays with their families. I will get back into the swing of things and post regularly. Many stories to tell...
Friday, December 07, 2007
We ALL have to share this world...
'Tis the season...
Thursday, December 06, 2007
Getting there...
I won't go into that my house is not decorated yet because that's a hot spot with me and hubby right now and I am taking the high road and choosing not to fight or kvetch about it. Aren't you proud of me? If you knew me, you would be.
Monday, December 03, 2007
Fuzzy math
I heard over the weekend that the Thriller turned 25. I think there's a mistake because that means it came out in 1982 (2007-25=1982). I wasn't in Miami in '82 and I was in Miami when it came out. I saw the premier of the video on my first date when my now hubby that was in December 1983, I was 18. I know I was 18 when I moved to Miami so 1965+18=1983. Both hubby and I remember that we saw the premier at the club that we went to adn it makes sense, if it was a year old they would replay it around Halloween not Christmas. So, you figure it out...fuzzy math or faulty memory.